How can my Housing Benefit or Council Tax Reduction be paid?

The way you get your Benefit depends on what you are claiming. You can see below how the different types of Benefit are paid and when.

  • Council Tax Reduction - This is paid direct to your Council Tax account. Once you have been given the Council Tax Reduction you will be sent a new bill. This bill will tell you if any more payments are needed or if your bill has been fully cleared.
  • Housing Benefit - Council Tenant - Housing Benefit is automatically credited to your rent account.
  • Housing Benefit - Private Tenants - Housing Association - We can pay your Housing Benefit into your bank account or directly into your landlord's bank account.
  • Housing Benefit - Private Tenants – Landlords - We will pay your Housing Benefit directly into your bank account. But we will pay the landlord directly if you haven’t paid your rent in 8 weeks, if you can prove that you cannot manage your finances, if we feel that you are an unlikely payer or if your tenancy started before January 1989.
  • Universal Credit - Private Tenants, Council Tenants, Owner Occupiers and those of No Fixed Abode - This benefit is paid by the Department of Work and Pensions and is paid direct into a bank account. For further details about Universal Credit and when you will be switched to receive it please click here.

To have your Housing Benefit paid directly into your bank account you will need to complete our BACS form. This form can be found in related downloads. Please complete the form and then send it back to us.

When will my Housing Benefit be paid?

The date that you are paid depends on what sort of claim you have and how long you have been claiming.

Council Tenants

Council tenants are always paid weekly. South Essex Homes normally gets payment over the weekend.

Private Tenants

If you are a Private Tenant payment will either be 4 weekly in arrears or Calendar Monthly in arrears.

To find out what your payment is please look at your notification letter. It will tell you in the middle of the page what payment cycle your claim is under.

4 Weekly Payment Runs 2014/2015
Date Payment Sent Date Payment to enter Bank Account
Wednesday 12/02/2014 Friday 14/02/2014
Wednesday 12/03/2014 Friday 14/03/2014
Wednesday 09/04/2014 Friday 11/04/2014
Wednesday 07/05/2014 Friday 09/05/2014
Wednesday 04/06/2014 Friday 06/06/2014
Wednesday 02/07/2014 Friday 04/07/2014
Wednesday 30/07/2014 Friday 01/08/2014
Wednesday 27/08/2014 Friday 29/08/2014
Wednesday 24/09/2014 Friday 26/09/2014 
Wednesday 22/10/2014 Friday 24/10/2014 
Wednesday 19/11/2014 Friday 21/11/2014 
Wednesday 17/12/2014 Friday 19/12/2014
Wednesday 14/01/2015 Friday 16/01/2015 
Wednesday 11/02/2015  Friday 13/02/2015
Wednesday 11/03/2015 Friday 13/03/2015

Calendar Monthly Payment Run 2014/2015
Date Payment Sent Date Payment to enter Bank Account
Wednesday 26/02/2014 Friday 28/02/2014
Wednesday 26/03/2014 Friday 28/03/2014
Monday 28/04/2014  Wednesday 30/04/2014
Wednesday 28/05/2014 Friday 30/05/2014
Wednesday 25/06/2014 Friday 27/06/2014 
Monday 28/07/2014 Wednesday 30/07/2014
Tuesday 26/08/2014 Thursday 28/08/2014 
Friday 26/09/2014 Tuesday 30/09/2014
Wednesday 29/10/2014 Friday 31/10/2014
Wednesday 26/11/2014 Friday 28/11/2014
Monday 22/12/2014 Wednesday 24/12/2014
Wednesday 28/01/2015 Friday 30/01/2015
Wednesday 25/02/2015 Friday 27/02/2015
Wednesday 25/03/2015 Friday 27/03/2015

For more information please see our related downloads.

Page last updated: 02/12/2014