Veolia is now our new waste contractor

There will be no change to recycling and waste service.

Find out more...

The Political Make-up of the Council

The Council has 51 Councillors elected to represent you. The Full Council (when all 51 Councillors meet together around 9 times a year) decides major policy and sets the amount of Council Tax that you pay to help fund services provided to you by the Council.

You can view a map of wards and their Councillors here.

There are 17 wards each with three elected members.

A revised joint administration that will lead Southend-on-Sea Borough Council was launched on 19th May 2015.

This follows the establishment and signing of a joint administration agreement between the Independent Group, the Labour Group, the Liberal Democrat Group and the newly formed Southend Independence Group.

The current political make-up of the Council is as follows:

Conservative Group 22 Seats Leader of the Group Councillor John Lamb
Independent Group 10 Seats Group spokesman Councillor Martin Terry
Labour Group 9 Seats Leader of the Group Councillor Ian Gilbert
Liberal Democrat Group 4 Seats Leader of the Group Councillor Graham Longley
Southend Independence Group 3 Seats Leader of the Group Councillor James Moyies
UKIP Group 2 Seats Leader of the Group Councillor Floyd Waterworth
Unaligned Independent 1 Seat
Councillor Stephen Aylen

Page last updated: 03/08/2015