History of Southend Pier
Southend Pier is the town's historical icon as well as being the longest pleasure pier in the world, with its glorious 1.33 miles literally putting Southend on the map as well as into the record books.
Since it was built in 1830, the Pier has seen both jubilant and troubled times coupled with many changes as it has evolved to meet the trends of the passing decades of the 20th and 21st centuries.
It is a true survivor, having lived through fires, boat crashes, two world wars and economic decline as well as braving the elements of Mother Nature in beating off the effects of the weather and the waves.
The present iron pier was first opened in 1889 but only extended as far as what is now known as the Old Pier Head. The first extension was built to accommodate the increased number of steamboats visiting the Pier. This was opened in 1898 and is known as the New Pier Head. An upper deck was added and opened in 1908 and further extensions to this area were completed in 1927. The final addition to the length was opened in 1929. The Prince George Extension, as it is called, brought the length to 2360 yards (2158 metres) or 1.34 miles, the Longest Pleasure Pier in the World.
For further information on this iconic landmark please see, Southend on Sea, Pier museum website.
Last updated: 18th May 2012