Council appoints new leader and cabinet

Published Wednesday, 5th June 2019

Council Chamber

On Monday evening (3 June), Southend-on-Sea Borough Councillors voted in Cllr Ian Gilbert (Labour) as their new Leader.

Councillor Gilbert received 27 of the total votes. Cllr Aylen (unaligned independent) was also nominated and received 15 votes. There were six abstentions.

This followed Councillors voting to remove Cllr Tony Cox (Conservative) as Leader of the Council with 27 votes in favour of removal, 20 votes against and 1 abstention.

Cllr Gilbert will now lead a joint administration between Labour, Independents and Liberal Democrats, who between them hold 29 of the 51 seats on the Council.

The new cabinet of the joint administration is as follows:

Leader (Housing/Communities): Cllr Gilbert (Lab)

Deputy Leader (Transport/Capital/Inward Investment): Cllr Woodley (Ind)

Business, Culture & Tourism: Cllr Robinson (Lab)

Children & Learning: Cllr Jones (Lab)

Community Safety & Customer Contact: Cllr Terry (Ind)

Environment & Planning: Cllr Mulroney (Lib Dem)

Health and Adult Social Care: Cllr Harp (Ind)

You can watch a replay of the live meeting on our Webcast site.

You can find a copy of the Joint Administration Agreement in the download section.