New council administration appointed

A new Conservative administration has been appointed to lead Southend-on-Sea City Council after being voted in at Full Council earlier tonight (Thursday 18th May).

A stone finished tower block building with many windows reaches up into a bright blue sky.

At the recent local elections, no party gained the required majority to lead the council outright. However, the Conservative Party has 22 seats and have formed a minority administration.

Cllr Tony Cox is therefore the new Leader of the Council and after appointing his cabinet at the meeting, said: “I am honoured to be the new Leader of the Council and along with my new cabinet look forward to serving the residents and businesses of the great City of Southend-on-Sea.

“We all want the best for our new City and this new administration under my leadership will work hard to ensure that we provide stability to the council and move forwards in the best interests of residents, businesses and visitors.”

The new cabinet is as follows:

New Cabinet structure
Councillor Cabinet portfolio
Cllr Tony Cox, Leader of the Council SEND
Cllr Meg Davidson, Deputy Leader of the Council Environment
Cllr Daniel Nelson Economic Growth and Investment
Cllr James Moyies Adult Social Care, Health, Public Health and Constitutional Affairs
Cllr Kevin Buck Highways, Transport and Parking
Cllr Helen Boyd Children’s Services, Education and Learning
Cllr James Courtenay Community Safety and Public Protection
Cllr David Garston Housing and Planning
Cllr Derek Jarvis Arts, Culture, Heritage, and Leisure
Cllr John Lamb Regulatory Services

Appointments to the various committees were also formally agreed. These will be viewable under the meeting agenda this week.

Published: 19th May 2023

Go to top